Department of Psychology – Psychological Methods, Evaluation and Statistics

 

News

Psychoco 2015 – International Workshop on Psychometric Computing:
http://www.psychoco.org/2015
February 12-13, 2015
Universiteit van Amsterdam, The Netherlands

JSS Special Volume:
Psychometric Computing in R

Welcome to the workgroup for Psychological Methods, Evaluation and Statistics!

Buch
The workgroup for Psychological Methods, Evaluation and Statistics is engaged in research and teaching concerning the application, validation and development of statistical methods for measuring psychological constructs and analyzing data from experimental and non-experimental studies. On the following pages you can find further information about the members of our workgroup and their academic activities.
Varimp
Our main research areas range from the measurement of latent traits by means of psychometric models to the analysis of high-dimensional datasets with machine learning approaches. In all research areas existing statistical methods are being applied to complex practical problems, their statistical properties are being investigated theoretically and by means of extensive simulation studies, and new statistical methods are being developed for solving practical research questions. In order to make them promptly available to a broad, international audience for research and teaching, we implement our newly developed statistical methods in the free open-source software R. Further information about our research can be found here. 
Screenshot
Our teaching covers the theoretical foundations of classical and modern statistical analysis procedures as well as their practical application and the interpretation of the results. Besides SPSS, many of our advanced courses are taught with the free open-source software R, that allows the users to employ not only the standard analysis procedures also offered by commercial software programs, but also the latest methodological developments, that can be made available as add-on packages within a short time. Moreover, R enables its users to conduct their own simulation studies and develop new statistical methods themselves. Further information about our teaching can be found in the university calendar.

Willkommen am Lehrstuhl für Psychologische Methodenlehre, Evaluation und Statistik!

Der Lehrstuhl für Psychologische Methodenlehre, Evaluation und Statistik beschäftigt sich in Forschung, Lehre und Beratung mit der Entwicklung, Validierung und Anwendung von statistischen Verfahren zur Messung psychologischer Konstrukte und der Analyse von Daten aus experimentellen und nicht-experimentellen Untersuchungen. Auf den folgenden Seiten finden Sie weitere Informationen zu unseren Mitarbeitern und ihren Tätigkeitsschwerpunkten.

Die am Lehrstuhl vertretenen Forschungsschwerpunkte reichen von der Messung latenter Eigenschaften mithilfe psychometrischer Modelle bis zur Analyse hochdimensionaler Datensätze mit Methoden des maschinellen Lernens. In allen Forschungsbereichen werden bestehende statistische Verfahren auf komplexe praktische Probleme angewendet, ihre statistischen Eigenschaften theoretisch und mithilfe von umfangreichen Simulationsstudien untersucht und neue statistische Verfahren zur Lösung von inhaltlichen Fragestellungen entwickelt. Um sie einem breiten, internationalen Anwenderkreis zeitnah für Forschung und Lehre zugänglich zu machen, implementieren wir unsere neu entwickelten statistischen Verfahren in der kostenlos verfügbaren open-source Software R. Weitere Informationen zu unserer Forschung finden sie hier, ebenso wie nützliche Hinweise zum Einstieg in R.

In der Lehre werden sowohl die theoretischen Grundlagen klassischer und moderner statistischer Auswertungsverfahren als auch deren praktische Anwendung und die Interpretation der Ergebnisse vermittelt. Neben SPSS wird in vielen unserer fortgeschrittenen Veranstaltung mit der kostenlos verfügbaren open-source Software Runterrichtet, in der dem Anwender - neben den gebräuchlichsten Auswertungsverfahren, die auch kommerzielle Programme anbieten - neueste methodische Entwicklungen in einer Vielzahl von Zusatz-Paketen zeitnah zur Verfügung stehen. Darüber hinaus sind mit R auch die Durchführung von eigenen Simulationsstudien und die selbständige Entwicklung neuer statistischer Verfahren möglich. Weitere Informationen zur Lehre finden sie im Vorlesungsverzeichnis.